About Time

Hello and welcome.  This blog isn’t about time.  It’s about time.  About time that I got around to starting it.

I’m a frustrated writer.  Well, not so much frustrated, as that implies that I’ve made an effort and hit some sort of road blocks.  That really hasn’t happened.  I haven’t made much of an effort to now.  I’ve completed NaNoWriMo once, though I didn’t finish the book.  I’ve written some short memoir-ish pieces.  And I’ve done some very short fiction and writing exercises.  Really, I’ve mostly read about writing (something that is infinitely easier than actually, you know, writing).

But at the urging of my wife, Little Thunder (yes, I go by Big Thunder, or WhiskeyWriter, or WW), I’ve decided to open this page.  It’s purpose is simply to get me writing.  To get my fingers on the keyboard and moving.  Most people that are smarter than me (which is the same as simply saying “most people”) say that this is by far the biggest factor in improving as a writer.  So that’s what I’ll do.  I’ll sit down at the computer and I’ll write.

Which begs the question: well, what will WW write?  The answer to that is almost anything.  I’ll write about what’s on my mind.  Current events.  Book reviews.  Witty observations (what’s the deal with airplane food, am I right???).  But aside from these, I will focus on two primary categories.  First, fiction writing.  This could be writing exercises, full on short pieces, or excerpts of longer writing.  The second category will detail my journey of learning whiskey.  After 34 years of drinking mostly beer with the occasional glass of red wine (well, maybe not 34 years — 13 legal years), I’ve dropped beer entirely.  In its stead, I am drinking whiskey.  Why?  I’ll explain later, but it’s safe to say that I am, by any measure, a whiskey noobie.  If you are an opinionated whiskey (or whisky) expert looking for insightful or educational commentary, you are more likely to just get a couple of laughs.

All that said, I welcome you, the reader, to my blog.  I’ve blogged before, and I can tell you that there is nothing better than repeat visitors and frequent commenters.  Let me know what you think and what you’d like to see.

Cheers,

WW

5 comments on “About Time

  1. littletipple says:

    Looking forward to reading more – you’re in the same sort of position as me – an enjoyer of whisky, without the plethora of knowledge behind you that can sometimes be a little terrifying! Good luck!

    • Respectfully, I don’t think that is true. You are a whisky black belt compared to me. When I read the notes that reviewers like you use to describe whiskies, I realize that not only would I have trouble identifying those flavors in my drink, but for many of them, I don’t even know what they smell or taste like at all!

      Nonetheless, I enjoy reading the reviews. It is part of my education.

      • littletipple says:

        A whisky Black Belt? High praise indeed… although in your words “i don’t think that’s true”. feel free to email me at wondersmith “at” mac dot com, if you ever want any words from an amateur…

  2. Jason Debly says:

    My experience as an amateur writer, is that you should post every week. One post. On anything but get it done. You will quickly find out if you really are a writing enthusiast.

    You will also shock yourself as to the ideas that you will come up with.

    In general, think of writing as good conversation. Keep that in mind!

    Cheers!

    Jason

    • Thanks a lot, Jason. I have found that writing, like many things, works best when you are practising regularly. And when I do, I really do find it to be extremely rewarding.

      As an aside, I must say that yours is one of my very favorite whisky blogs. I have learned a lot reading it. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

